Skip to content

MegaChef Not stated by the maker review

A single-bottle thermoelectric cooler running on 12 volts at up to 72 watts, with a copper pipe and heat sink.

What it comes down to Twelve volts, five amps, seventy-two watts, a copper pipe and a heat sink. The only listing on this shelf that publishes its electrical and thermal design — and the only one that says nothing at all about what it achieves.

What the maker puts in writing

  • DC 12 V, 5 A · maximum 72 W
  • Thermoelectric, copper pipe, heat sink
  • Metal housing, PP base, ABS cover
  • On/off, +/−, °C/°F

Five bullets, all engineering. It is the most technical listing on this shelf and the least informative about the result.

The only wattage on the shelf

Seventy-two watts. A cooler that sits on a table all evening is a running cost, and this is the only listing in the category that lets you calculate one.

It is also the only one that names what is doing the cooling: a Peltier element against a copper pipe and a heat sink, which is why it is quiet and why it is not fast.

What it never says

How cold. For how long. For which bottle.

Three other holding coolers on this shelf answer at least one of those three.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $70 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-04. The live price is at the top of the page.

What works, and what does not

Strengths

  • The only listing on this shelf that publishes its supply, its current and its wattage: 12 V, 5 A, 72 W maximum
  • The only one that names the cooling path — thermoelectric with a copper pipe and a heat sink — rather than calling it a cooling system
  • Switchable between Celsius and Fahrenheit, which only two coolers on this shelf offer

Compromises

  • Publishes no temperature range, no hold time and no bottle size: five bullets, all of them about the hardware
  • Seventy-two watts is substantial for a device that runs for hours, and no running figure is given
  • A metal housing with a plastic base and cover is a mixed construction that the listing does not explain

Its two closest on cost

Same shelf, nearest price — what the same spend buys instead.

Specifications

TypeThermoelectric holding cooler
SupplyDC 12 V, 5 A, from an adapter
PowerMaximum 72 W
Cooling systemThermoelectric, with a copper pipe and a heat sink
MaterialsMetal housing, PP base, ABS cover
ControlsOn/off, plus and minus, °C/°F
Temperature rangeNot stated by the maker
Hold timeNot stated by the maker
Bottle limitNot stated by the maker
Amazon referenceB09WFYZ6JN
EAN0840191204227

What readers ask us

How cold does it get?

The listing does not say. It publishes the supply, the wattage, the cooling method and the materials, and nothing about the result. The Cobalance on this shelf publishes 41 to 64 °F held for up to 24 hours; this one publishes a copper pipe.

What does 72 watts mean here?

That it is a thermoelectric cooler rather than a compressor fridge, and that it draws about as much as a bright light bulb while running. It is the only wattage on this shelf, which makes it the only cooler here whose running cost can be estimated.

Will my bottle fit?

Unstated. The Cobalance on this shelf publishes a 3.74-inch diameter limit and names a champagne it rejects; this listing gives a 25-ounce capacity in its title and no dimensions.

The buyer this one serves, among bar and wine appliances

Someone who wants to know what is inside the box and will work out what it does from the dial

What this one costs among bar and wine appliances

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for bar and wine appliances and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on these bar and wine appliances